Taconic Rye Whiskey Review

Taconic Distillery Founders Rye

Specifics

Brand: Taconic Distillery Founders Rye
Distiller: Taconic Distillery
ABV: 60%
Age: NAS


Label Notes:

  • Taconic Distillery’s Founders Straight Rye Whiskey is crafted in small batches using only the finest ingredients including fresh spring water from Rolling Hills Farm in historic Hudson Valley New York.
  • Distilled in New York
  • Aged & Hand-Boittled by Taconic Distillery, Sanfordville, NY USA
  • Carolina Whiskey Society (private selection)

Observations

Color: Amber

Nose: Cinnamon, rye, sweet tarts candy, fresh mint leaves, vanilla, lavender!

Palate: Very thick mouthfeel, sweet tarts candy. Oak.. Rye. Nice spicy kick.

Finish: Medium length finish, rye, oak, vanilla comes in with a hint of mint.


Overall

This is my first Taconic, a barrel pick by Carolina Whiskey Society. The nose on this thing is fascinating – it smells like a really good rye, but it has notes I didn’t expect like lavender. The nose is definitely the star for me but the taste is excellent as well.

Rating: 8


Rating Overview:
1: Gross I can’t even drink this crap.
2: Poor I would force this down in good company
3: Bad I wouldn’t have to force it down, but it’s not good either.
4: Not Bad But still not good.
5: Just OK Average.
6: Good Above average, but not special.
7: Very Good Well above average.
8: Excellent This is a favorite of mine for sure.
9. Amazing I would bathe in this if I could afford to.
10. Life Altering Nothing could be better than this.

See all whiskey and rum reviews by rating

Leave a comment